EKC 2018 - About EKC

Migeun Park

On behalf of the Korean Scientists and Engineers Association in the UK (KSEAUK), I should like to welcome you to the 11th Europe-Korea Conference on Science and Technology (EKC) in 2018, which will be held in Glasgow, Scotland. EKC 2018 is hosted by KSEAUK together with the Korean Federation of Science and Technology Societies (KOFST) and the eight other Korean Scientists and Engineers Associations in Europe: Germany (VeKNI), France (ASCoF), Austria (KOSEAA), Netherland (KOSEANL), Switzerland (KSEAS), Finland (KOSES), Scandinavia (KSSEA), and Belgium (KOSEABe). EKC is an annual conference where scientists, engineers, government officials, industry executives, and policy-makers from both Korea and Europe share expertise and ideas and develop networking and collaboration. EKC 2018 in Glasgow will continue a tradition that started in 2008 in Heidelberg, followed by annual meetings in Reading, Vienna, Paris, Berlin, Brighton, Vienna, Strasbourg, Berlin and Stockholm. Korea and the UK, Germany and France are among the world’s top ten countries for Gross domestic Expenditure in R&D (GERD), and the aim of EKC 2018, as with previous EKC meetings, is to bring together Korean scientists and engineers in Europe and in Korea working on new and novel frontiers, and of helping European scientists and engineers to form links with Korean nationals. This year’s meeting has as its theme the Fourth Industrial Revolution and it is being promoted at EKC 2018 under the title;
Science, Technology and Humanity: Portal 4 Industry
The conference program includes forums, sessions and workshops to cover broad areas of science and technology, including, but not limited, to science, engineering, technology, entrepreneurship and science policy, and to deliver a wider view of the role of all those areas for global society. We look forward to your participation in EKC 2018 and to seeing you in Glasgow later this year! Migeun Park Chair of the EKC 2018 President of Korean Scientists and Engineers Association in the UK